The rule of 7
The rule of 7 says: Add the number of
cards in your hand and dummy in the led suit and subtract this number
from 7. The result tells you how often to hold up.
|I.e. holding Axx opposite xx you calculate: 7-(3+2) = 2 ==> Hold up twice.|
|The reason is, if you have 5 cards, the opponents have 8. No problem if they are divided 44, but if they are 5/3 you can cut communication by holding up twice.|
|KQx is better than Axx. You can decide not to hold up, because you have a second stopper, if LHO gets the lead.|
If you got 2 stopper in a suit, you hold
up once less than with one stopper.
|Links a got from Google typing:||"Rule of 7" Bridge|
|Hold up and ducking strategies||Read this to begin with.|
|http://homepage.mac.com/bridgeguys/Conventions/Rules.html||All the numbers|
|http://lodemarcos.org/luis/LuisNT-Holdup&AvoidancePart1.doc||Great BIL lesson|